Handling of - async after - for user tasks from 2024.06 ext 9 and above

We are currently migrating from A12 2023.06 ext a11 to A12 2024.06 ext 9. The migration guidelines state that the “async after” parameter is no longer required for user tasks and can be removed. However, according to the CIB 7 documentation, this remains an opt-in feature. Could you please explain in more detail why this property can be removed and how the task will now be processed?

Doc-Link: GetA12

On user tasks, “async after” is no longer necessary. In fact, it should be removed.

Hi @mathias-early-ravine,

In 2023.06, we had a technical limitation that forced the use of async after on user tasks to avoid transactional issues. In 2024.06, this limitation (or bug if you will) was removed so that “async after” is no longer required.

The reason we say it should be removed is that we expect most projects/use cases wouldn’t want it and only added it to work around our limitation. Because user tasks are already wait states where the transaction is committed.

If a subsequent task fails, we expect (in most cases) you want to fall back to the user task. If you add “async after” though, you can never fall back into the user task.

Feel free to keep “async after” if you never want to fall back into the user task. But even in those cases, I’d rather expect an “async before” on a following service task to trigger retry.